Security Council: 5 new non-permanent members begin their term

Five new members of the United Nations Security Council, namely Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland, take office this Tuesday, January 3, as non-permanent members.

The five new members, who have a two-year term, replace India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway whose terms expired on December 31, 2022.

Japan begins its mandate by assuming the rotating presidency of the Council for the month of January. The Security Council is the executive body of the United Nations in charge of peace and security issues. It is made up of five permanent members (China, the United States, Russia, France and the United Kingdom) and ten non-permanent members elected for a period of two years by the General Assembly. Each year, it elects five new non-permanent members.

In addition to the new members elected last June, the composition of the UN body also includes in 2023: Albania, Brazil, the United Arab Emirates, Gabon and Ghana who have already been on the Council since January 1, 2022. .

Previous Post Next Post