Formula E: Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne crowned world champion

Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes) was crowned Formula Electric 2022 world champion on Sunday by finishing 2nd in the last race of the season in Seoul won by Swiss Edoardo Mortara (Venturi), Mercedes winning the constructors’ championship.

Vandoorne, who has won only one event this season in Monaco, has been very consistent, managing to score points in 15 of 16 races and finishing on the podium seven times.

He succeeds in the championship list to his Mercedes team-mate, the Dutchman Nyck de Vries, forced to retire on Sunday.

Contested on urban circuits, Formula E is intended to be the counterpart of F1, but by running fully electric single-seaters while those of Formula 1 use hybrid thermal engines.

. Final classification of the drivers’ world championship:

1. Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL): 213 points

2. Mitch Evans (NZL): 180

3. Edoardo Mortara (SUI): 169

4. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA): 144

5. Lucas di Grassi (BRA/Venturi): 126

. Final ranking of the constructors’ world:

1. Mercedes: 319 points

2. Venturi: 295

3.DS-Techeetah: 266

4.Jaguar: 231

5. Envision: 194


Previous Post Next Post