Benzema, Courtois and De Bruyne named

Frenchman Karim Benzema (Real Madrid) and Belgians Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid) and Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) are the three finalists for the title of European Player of the Year.

The name of the winner will be revealed on August 25 in Istanbul during the Champions League group stage draw, UEFA said.

For the title of coach of the year, Carlo Ancelotti (Real madrid), Josep Guardiola (Manchester city) and Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool) are the three finalists.

The French striker has been named 2021/22 UEFA Champions League Player of the Season after guiding Real Madrid to their fourteenth title in the competition. It is his fifth personal European crown since joining the club from Lyon in 2009. His tally of 15 goals also saw him finish as the competition’s top scorer.

The Belgian goalkeeper, who won La Liga with Madrid, was named Player of the Match in the Champions League final, a match during which he distinguished himself by making sublime saves against Liverpool’s Sadio Mané and Mohamed Salah, at the Stade de France.

The talented Belgian midfielder is one of three named for a third season in a row. He was named Premier League Player of the Season after winning the Championship with City, his fourth domestic title in seven seasons with the Citizens.

The other 15 ranked players are, in order, Robert Lewandowski (Bayern, now Barcelona/Poland), Luka Modrić (Real Madrid/Croatia), Sadio Mané (Liverpool, now Bayern/Senegal), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/ Egypt), Kylian Mbappé (Paris/France), Vinícius Junior (Real Madrid/Brazil), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool/Netherlands), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City/Portugal), Filip Kostić (Eintracht Frankfurt/Serbia), Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma/Italy), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool/England) and Fabinho (Liverpool/Brazil).

According to the European Football Authority, the title of Player of the Year is awarded to players playing in Europe, regardless of their nationality. They are judged according to their performance over the season in all competitions, national and international, in club as in selection.

An initial list of 15 players has been drawn up by the UEFA Technical Study Group. The three nominees were decided by the vote of a jury made up of the clubs that participated in the group stage of the UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League and UEFA Europa Conference League, as well as a group of journalists selected by ESM (European Sports Media).

The jury members all chose their top 3, with the first player receiving five points, the second receiving three points and the third receiving one point. Coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team.


Previous Post Next Post