The final trio of each category revealed, several Moroccans in the running

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has unveiled the list of three finalists in the different categories, vying for the CAF Awards-2022.

In the men’s category, former winners Mohamed Salah (Egypt-Liverpool) and Sadio Mané (Senegal-Bayern Munich) are still positioned as the main contenders for this award, alongside the Senegalese goalkeeper of Chelsea Blues, Edouard Mendy.

Moroccans Achraf Dari (Interclub Player of the Year), Yasmine Zouhir (Young Player of the Year), Walid Regragui (Men’s Football Coach of the Year) and Zouhair El Moutaraji (Goal of the Year) are also part of finalists.

As for the clubs, AS FAR (women’s football), WAC and RSB (men’s football) are also in the running.

The CAF Awards will be held in Rabat on July 21, 2022 at 8:00 p.m. local time (19:00 GMT), according to CAF.

— Here are the full lists of finalists:

— Player of the Year

Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Internazionale Milano)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt)

— Player of the Year

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

— Interclub Player of the Year

Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

— Interclub Player of the Year

Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)

Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

— Young Player of the Year

Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Avaldsnes)

Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne)

— Young Player of the Year

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Karim Konate (Ivory Coast & ASEC / RB Salzburg)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)

— Coach of the Year (women’s football)

Bruce Mwape (Zambia)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Men’s Football)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)

Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

— Club of the Year (women’s football)

AS FAR (Morocco)

Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana)

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Men’s Football)

Al Ahly (Egypt)

RS Berkane (Morocco)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

National Team of the Year (Men’s Football)




Goal of the year

Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi & Orlando Pirates)

Pope Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba)

Zouhair El Moutaraji (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

— National Team of the Year (women’s football)

Due to the absence of a major women’s competition during the reporting period, the organizing team of the CAF Awards 2022 has reviewed the selection process for this important category. The TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations in Morocco will be considered as one of the criteria to nominate a winner worthy of the status of the award and women’s football in general. The name of the winner will be announced on July 23, 2022 after the final of the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations.


Previous Post Next Post